String recommendations?

MDF

Reaction score
I recently bought a Savannah soprano uke except it doesn't have any strings and I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for strings?

Musiciansfriend.com is running a string sale now, and they ship for free. You can't go wrong with a set of Martin Fluorocarbon Ukulele Strings for $5.99.

I'm a Worth flurorocarbon string fan. Worth Clears for me. I buy mine from Strings By Mail online.

But here is the thing with Worth strings: You must buy two sets... each string is doubled in length, and you cut them in half.

The problem? They cost twice as much when you buy them... AND... you end up with an extra set, which you will need to put in a place you will be able to find them again six months from now...

Go with Worth CL46. $12.99 for 2 sets... then find a friend and change strings together!

Still "Worth" it...

Otherwise- Do what Rennaissance-Man said. Fluorocarbon strings are hard to beat.

Last edited:
I have no personal experience with Savannah ukuleles. Here is a good tutorial on ukulele strings that discusses the main types of strings. Each type has its fans. The only way to tell what you like is to try each type and see what you think. The different types of strings have different sound and different feel. Some people will buy strings for the sound. Others will buy strings for the feel. Strings will sound different depending on the ukulele and on how you play it. My advice is to buy one of the popular strings like Martin M600 or Aquila Nylgut. Most music stores will sell one or the other or both. Play the ukulele until the strings wear out, then next time try a different brand. Then you can decide which one you liked better. Ukulele Underground recommends changing your strings every 2 months if you play regularly, so it won't be too long before you get to try the next brand.

https://ukulelemagazine.com/lessons/how-to-choose-and-install-a-new-set-of-strings-for-your-ukulele

Last edited: