Reaction score
Help a friend in need!

Ohana Solid Mahogany
Ohana/Kala Solid Cedar Top/Acacia
Kala Curly Mango
Kala Solid Spruce Top/Mahogany
Kala Spalted Mango
Kala/Kumu Koa
Koaloha Opio All Solid Acacia (Although not sure if I'm worthy of this uke!)

I do not have a preference to the wood type. I appreciate them all accordingly. And that is why I am unable to make a decision on which long neck soprano to purchase.

Although, I would prefer one with a bright sound.

Appreciate any of your polls/thoughts! :)

Last edited:
Hi @Freya Vie, I voted for mahogany because that’s my favourite. But then I saw in your post that you prefer a bright sound, so maybe you’d be better off with spruce or cedar!

I’m no expert on tonewoods, but in my experience mango is the least bright of the woods you listed, with koa somewhere in the middle. I find mahogany to be dark and woody sounding on the smaller sizes, but on a good ukulele it should still have some brightness and sparkle.

Do you have particular models and brands in mind? Because that would make a lot of difference too.

Hi @Freya Vie, I voted for mahogany because that’s my favourite. But then I saw in your post that you prefer a bright sound, so maybe you’d be better off with spruce or cedar!

I’m no expert on tonewoods, but in my experience mango is the least bright of the woods you listed, with koa somewhere in the middle. I find mahogany to be dark and woody sounding on the smaller sizes, but on a good ukulele it should still have some brightness and sparkle.

Do you have particular models and brands in mind? Because that would make a lot of difference too.
Oh thank you so much for your sharing! I thought Mahogany would be the most mellow of them all 🫢

Ah yes, perhaps you're right, I shall indicate the make for better votes.

Thank you!

Last edited:
I thought Mahogany would be the most mellow of them all