Any pie thread.

KohanMike

Los Angeles, Beverly Grove West
UU VIP
Reaction score
The apple pie thread prompted me to do an any pie thread because I didn't want to hijack the apple pie one with my pumpkin pie.

The only pie I've ever made, which I make every Thanksgiving, is a very easy pumpkin vegan cream cheese pie in a ready made graham cracker crust. I buy a can of pumpkin pie filling, two tubs of Tofutti plant based cream cheese (it really, honestly, truly is like cream cheese, no one knows it's not real), and candied pecans. Thoroughly mix together the pie filling and cream cheese, pour it into the pie crust, spread the pecans around the top and refrigerate overnight.

Last edited:
I find the best pumpkin pie recipe is on the can of Libby's Pumpkin Pie filling. Even when I make it from raw pumpkins, I still fall back on that recipe. I have tried others, but they don't quite make it.
Also, as a former professional baker, I have made a ton of pies from custard to pecan. One of my favorites is Cherry pie. I love to pit fresh cherries, add a bit of sugar, spice and some red wine with a bit of cornstarch, heat it on the stove. let it thicken, then pour it into the pie crust on the can of Crisco (the best all purpose pie crust recipe, in my opinion) and bake it at 420F for 15 minutes, then turn it down to 350F for about 45 more minutes +/-.

Easy and good dessert, can qualify as a pie if you make it in a pie pan (we usually use a square pan): One can of you favorite pie filling, dumped in pan (we usually use apple). One small box of cake mix, dumped on top. You can add a little butter if you want. Bake per directions. Done. We call it dump cake (not a joke), but it's more like a cobbler. Goes well with ice cream, esp if warm.