What problems do you see with radius fretboards?

dancephoto

Reaction score
I am in the process of ordering a slightly customized tenor and I need to decide which fingerboard to request. I have read many posts by people who are convinced that radiused fretboards enhance their performance, but only a relatively few by people who disagree. I have no experience with radiused fretboards. I am a former performer on classical guitar and a folksinger before that (1960s!), and I expect that I eventually will be able to play in a few different styles. Do you think radiused fretboards make playing (or certain types of playing) more difficult Thank you for your input.

I am in the process of ordering a slightly customized tenor and I need to decide which fingerboard to request. I have read many posts by people who are convinced that radiused fretboards enhance their performance, but only a relatively few by people who disagree. I have no experience with radiused fretboards. I am a former performer on classical guitar and a folksinger before that (1960s!), and I expect that I eventually will be able to play in a few different styles. Do you think radiused fretboards make playing (or certain types of playing) more difficult Thank you for your input.
I love the radius fingerboard especially for bar chords.

If I ever order a custom uke that will be a must have especially for my old hands/fingers.

Is there a recommended radius for concert scale ? 12 inch ?

It depends on the radius of the board. But the more common 12" is pretty subtle. I like them, but it's not essential.

The only thing I think of that might be a downside is that if you ever have to get a replacement nut or saddle you may want to get them from the maker. Since they are normally curved to position the strings the proper heights from the frets that are also curved.

If you played classical guitar, you may prefer a flat fretboard.