Introduction

longbow72

Reaction score
Hi I am Dave from near Oxford UK. I am a beginner and started 4 weeks ago. I am lucky that there is a ukulele group near me called Adderbury Ukes with really helpful folks there. In my youth (50 odd years ago) I quickly found that playing a guitar was beyond me. So far the ukulele seems more up my street. Cheers

Welcome! Nice to have you join us! I'm new to the uke too, and have found a lot of great information and support here. I'm so pleased you've got an ukulele group near you, that's a great way to get our and practice what you're learning and to learn more stuff!

Welcome, Dave! Cheers from near Atlanta USA. Spending a few hours of quality time with the family at Booth Western Art Museum today.

Hello and welcome, from the wilds of Shropshire. I too found the ukulele after picking up a guitar and deciding it was too big and cumbersome. That was about twenty-five years ago. Enjoy!

Hi I am Dave from near Oxford UK. I am a beginner and started 4 weeks ago. I am lucky that there is a ukulele group near me called Adderbury Ukes with really helpful folks there. In my youth (50 odd years ago) I quickly found that playing a guitar was beyond me. So far the ukulele seems more up my street. Cheers
Welcome! You are indeed fortunate to have a uke group nearby. No such luck here in rural Oregon.

You're also lucky to discover the ukulele so quickly. It took me 60 years of guitar playing before I figured out I prefer the smaller, lighter uke.

Jim

Welcome to UU, longbow72 / Dave!
Ukes are too much fun. There is lots of different things to learn if you want, but only a few chords are needed to get you started. So, whatever you decide to focus on, and whenever you accomplish your goal(s) I wish you a very pleasant journey.