When active learning stops

clear

Reaction score
I guess I should mention that I think "active learning" means. It means to learn new techniques; and once mastered/passed, moving on to more challenging new things. It requires concentrated practice and focusing on the most difficult parts and pushing beyond/expanding your abilities methodically.

I've been playing for about 3 years. Actively learned for the first 6 months via self-teaching using eMedia Ukulele Method and Ralph Shaw's Complete Ukulele Course; never finished either course. After those first 6 months, I've never practiced on the uke. If I get something wrong, maybe I'll get it right on the next try... possibly next week/next month/never.

Those initial 6 months taught me enough to strum all the songs I ever wanted to play (I only play from 1 ukulele song book with 40 songs; but I sometimes go to my local uke meets and play other songs). Although I've not been actively learning since, I play almost everyday so I've got the strumming and chords basics down very, very well (ok, as long as I'm on the first 5 frets; yes, I think the 2223 (D) is the highest I venture).

Sometimes I have a desire to learn some finger picking on the uke, but it's never a strong-enough to motivate me to actually do something about it. So, I'm stuck in strum-land with the uke, and it looks like this is where I'll remain. This is not to say I can't finger pick; I can pick easy songs ok-ish, and I pick once in a while.

I think everybody has somewhere he/she wants to be with the uke. Once the skills needed to do what the uke is needed for have been acquired, then the impetus to learn and advance the skills kind of disappears.

Just curious. Did you stop atcively learning to play? What method(s) are you following? Progress? Future plans?