New bridge for soprano uke

Saddler

Reaction score
Hello, I decided to remove the screwed bridge on my Sheffield ukulele (a very cheap hand made uke bought at Lidl) because it wasn't attached very well to the body. Considering that I want to change the tuning pegs, pre-amplify the instrument and change the colour, I decided to buy a rosewood bridge that reminds of a guitar pickup that I want to glue on it.

The problem that I am having is that the whole distance of the bridge I bought is different from the one that uke had installed. I am a complete newbie so I don't know if it is okay on installing it. Will this affect the sound of my instrument? :)

IMG_20231203_160000042.jpgIMG_20231203_160040643.jpg
these are the product measures:
1701623480434.png

The increase in width between the strings will ever so slightly increase their length. This will most likely cause some intonation problems. It will also change the path of your G and A strings enough that they might uncomfortably close to the edges of your fretboard.

The increase in width between the strings will ever so slightly increase their length. This will most likely cause some intonation problems. It will also change the path of your G and A strings enough that they might uncomfortably close to the edges of your fretboard.
Hey Small Chewbacca, thank you for your reply!
Do you think would be a bad idea if I cover those holes with a plastic wood filler and make new ones with the same measures of the original bridge I removed?

Speaking out of turn since the question was asked of @Smallchewbacca, but:
If this were my uke, I’d do exactly what you propose, especially since the color (black) will be easy to match/ remedy after you’ve drilled the new holes.