First try, finishing question

newbielele

Reaction score
Hello to everyone.
I am building a concert ukulele for my daughter. It is my first build, and I don't have any experience from any other similar job.
The ukulele is all made from maple, except an inlay on the top, cut from a reddish veneer.
Here is my question:
When sanded, this veneer produces a very red sawdast. I had in mind to use tru-oil for the finish as I read it is a relative easy and forgiving material.
In this case, if/when I sand between coats, is there a way to deal with the messy red dust and stop it from coloring the area around the inlay;
I mean in bare wood the dust fogs red the maple all around, but it can be blowned away. But after the oil coat, wouldn't the dust stick an color the top;
Thank you for your time, it is a great place you have here and I should have enter it earlier. It would have save me from a lot of mistakes and troubles...
This is the inlay:

Ps. Forgive my English, it is not my native langauge

Attachments

• IMG_20240205_103612589~3.jpg
    IMG_20240205_103612589~3.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 37
After finish sanding (and cleaning), I would typically seal with a couple applications of dilute shellac. They dry so fast that I would expect minimal migration of color into the maple. Once sealed, you can build finish via whatever method you choose, including Tru-Oil. You will build many layers of cured finish before sanding, and you should avoid sanding all the way back to the wood surface, so I don't see any issue with later color migration.

Thanks for posting and welcome to UUF! I’m impressed with the maple leaf detail.

You should be able to remove residual dust by wiping all surfaces with a damp, lint-free cloth. And, just before applying the Tru Oil, I’d use a DRY lint- free cloth to wipe it down again. I suggest that you finish with at least one coat of a clear spray sealant such as Rust-O-Leum 2X Ultra Cover.

Thank you both for taking the time to answer my question.