strings advice for new uke

BHEAT72

Reaction score
Hi All, I am somewhat new to the ukulele game and looking for some friendly advice on strings.

Here is what I like/want.

• Low G
  • Either unwound or smooth (a scratchy wound low G string drives me insane!)
  • I prefer a warm / mellow classical guitar-like (yeah I said it... :) ) sound.
  • This is for a new Kala Cedar top (Pao ferro back/sides).
  • I am, generally speaking, more of a fingerstyle player than chords.

I like nylon strings for a warm mellow sound. D'Addario Pro-Arte is a good neutral choice, but I don't think they have a set with a low-G. You can add a La Bella smooth wound low-G. For a more modern sound, try the Aquilla AGxAQ strings, which has an unwound low-G option.

Worth Browns with a LaBella 908 or Fremont Soloist Low G should meet your needs.

That's a nice uke! I remember that model fondly.

String exploration is fun! You can get lost in a few HMS podcasts for sure. Lemme find one for ya.

For a cedar top, you might also considering adding some brightness of fluorocarbon. Pepe Romero and Uke Logic sets are also nice.

Edit: grab some headphones, sit back and soak in some sweet string sounds.

I'm so meh about the Nylguts myself, but lots of people love them. Don't do Aquila Reds if you can't stand finger-noise on the strings. And some wound strings are a lot more finger-noise annoying than others. The Fremont Soloist (wound) is my fav, and I like the Worth Browns on a cedar top tenor. I play mostly early and classical music (check out our recent invitational for classical music if that's your groove at all!).

Something to consider if you're not usually playing with others is detuning the instrument - I've gone down a whole tone on my tenors and the resulting sound is rich, mellow and glorious. When you do play with others, you can just slap a capo on there to bring it back up to standard.