Singing From Memory vs. Singing With Lyric Sheets

I am not a professional musician, but I have had friends who are. Some of them rehearse the band for hours and expect the players to catch on quickly and know the material without aids. Others get a group of strangers together and 30 minutes before going on tell them the songs and run through the ones that may not be well known. Chuck Berry did not have a band on tours but got musicians from the local union hall and told them the plan 15 minutes before going on stage. However when the symphony plays everyone has a music stand. I think that there is no wrong way to do it. Like my mama used to say: "Play pretty now".

I don't think you can compare a symphony with a conductor keeping things together vs a band where one has to interact with each other.

Playing off the page / screen prevents you from connecting with your band mates and the crowd leading to a worse performance for the audience.

Not only that, I think musicians can fully enjoy themselves on stage if they know the material by heart. And this also leads to a better audience experience.

"Singing from memory is a valuable skill. So is singing from a lyric sheet. Either might be appropriate depending on the situation and which makes you feel more confident. I wouldn't say either is better...

Paper or memory: it's all good. Don't be afraid to change it up whenever you want to. With practice, thank goodness, we can get better at both."
Well-said, Acme-- your opening thought, your closing thought, and everything in between. (y)

Try memorizing Desolation Row😛

The crazy thing about Bob...well, one of 'em 🤣... is that he may be the only classic-era performer still working who has never used a teleprompter.