Indian (Desi) Food!

Oh yeah and "desi" doesn't just mean someone from the Indian subcontinent. It means someone who has emigrated. Some SE Asians find the term offensive. Then there is ABCD - American Born Confused Desi. This is also often considered a derogatory term, but some younger Americans of SE Asian descent have adopted the term for their own use, much as some African Americans have co-opted the "n-word".

My son would be categorized as an ABCD. Not by me, obviously, LOL!
Ah! Your detailed answer about Indian food gave me the impression that you are from the sub-continent as well. Good to see the confirmation 😂 Yup, my kids are ABCD as well. I don't find desi offensive, just refers to folks from the desh (country)

I've been cooking Indian food since 1978. IMNSHO, dried curry leaves might as well be dust. I almost never used to be able to get fresh curry leaves but lately I can pretty much always get them. Only at Indian groceries, mind. When you can get them, get a bunch - and FREEZE THEM. To use, zip the frozen leaves directly into the hot oil last of all your spices before adding your main ingredients. If you let them thaw, they will be mush, but if you do it this way they will be fine. I used to be able to get them from IshopIndian but I've not used them in awhile since I've been able to get most things from local Indian groceries.