Easy no-knead bread rolls/bread

UkingViking

Reaction score
After reading the delicious recipe for sunflower bread, I feel like sharing my easy, not very scientific bread recipe. They say that you need to be very precise and measure by weight to get the perfect bread. This might not get you perfect, but it usually turns out pretty darned good - especially once you get a feel for it. At it can be varied as you please.

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups of water
  • 2 cups of whole grain flour
  • 2 cups of finely ground wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • a bit of yeast
The water.
The water is taken cold from the tap. Lukewarm water is only for turbo risen dough. Water can be replaced with dark beer for a delicious variant! Brown ale or stout works great.

The yeast.
Dissolve a proper amount of yeast. Where I live we use fresh yeast, I have little experience with dried yeast. But use like 25% of what you would use for turbo risen dough.
Dissolve this in the water, and add salt and oil.

The whole grain.
You can use the available artisan flour of your choice. My favorite is to mix one cup rye and one cup wheat. All rye will also work, give a more moist bread. All wheat will work, give a slightly more dry bread. I like the balance of half and half. I write 2 cups. You might want to only fill them like 80 %. Especially if it is really coursely ground, you would want a little less.

The fine flour.
You can use all purpose flour, or step it up with tipo 00 or Manitoba flour.

The mixing.
You can probably benefit from using a mixer. I use a spoon and a bowl. It is probably better to mix the flours before adding, but that is one more bowl to clean. I add the whole grain first, and stir till its a slurry without too big lumps. Then I add the fine flour and stir until it is mixed. I want the texture to be elastic, yet so you can turn it with the spoon. Add a bit extra water if the flour was too much, but try stirring s bit first - it softens up.