Best Strings & Low G string for Carmel Tenor CT103???? Don't like Worth Browns on THIS uke

duganderson

Reaction score

I have a Caramel 26inch CT103 Zebrawood High Gloss as my 2nd uke and I tune it Low G. I have a nicer Cedar top tenor tuned to High G with Worth Brown and I LOVE them on that uke.​

I have the worth browns on my Caramel with a would low G and they all sound kinda blah on my Caramel. What strings do you like for this uke? What Low G string would you add to this uke?​

Thank you, Doug​

Anyone have a caramel uke and can recommend strings for low G tuning
I don't own a Caramel uke but I've some experience with low g strings...Pepe Romero low g; wound or unwound. Freemont blacks are nice but a bit soft in my opinion. There are lots of options available... You can either buy a set or a single low g string. I have the Pepe Romero la bella low g wound on my aNueNue tenor. The combination is a tonal treat for me. YMMV. ;)

Thank you for the reply. Do you find that wound or unwound strings are more bright. For this uke, I'm looking for more brightness and less 'blah." I love the worth browns on my higher quality High G Kala.

Wound low G are brighter or more accurately have a more metallic or chimey tone compared to non-wound. You will want to go brighter on the rest of the set. Try the Oasis "bright" low G set.

Consider a Freemont Soloist for the low G along with your favorite high G string set for the rest. The soloist is flat wound which makes it much nicer to play (for me) than the more typical round wounds.

I have a Caramel CC102A (all laminate "zebra" wood).
The Fremont Blackline Low G (.037") has a clear tone and feels good on it.

I tried the Oasis "bright" low G set on my Carmel Tenor Zebrawood. I like them better! They sound better! They are more balanced and include the high / treble sounds that were lacking with the Worth Browns on THIS uke. Also, the tension is better for me; the Worth Browns on my Carmel uke were too floppy for me.