Advice - First Song to Learn?

KyRo

Reaction score
Just got my new ukulele, Ohana CK-10 from Mim's, and was wondering what would be a good first song to learn? I'm actively looking for good YouTube tutorials for beginners and other online resources, but I'd like to have a small goal in mind. Since I'm a beginner, I'd prefer it to be relatively easy yet catchy; I'm not much for singing, so I'd like to focus on the instrument rather than singing along with the instrument. Not sure if Rock Lobster by the B-52's would be too difficult of an undertaking for a beginner.

Sounds like maybe fingerstyle is what you are looking for? Yuji has over 200 beginner tagged arrangements to choose from. Some more advanced, some quite simple!

First song I tried was "Lime in the coconut".

Just one chord to learn, so you can really focus on getting the strumming working first. I found a tutorial suggesting two different strumming patterns to alternate between.

Sounds like maybe fingerstyle is what you are looking for? Yuji has over 200 beginner tagged arrangements to choose from. Some more advanced, some quite simple!

Ukulele Time does have some nice "beginner" fingerstyle songs. You can watch the play-along video to see what skills you need for the song and what it will sound like after you practice. Beginner fingerstyle songs do require more skill than beginner strum-along songs, but you won't develop those skills until you start practicing.

I find it helps to have someone really spell it out. Cynthia Lin is a well known ukulele teacher on youtube. Her first lesson is for Three Little Birds by Bob Marley. It is a three minute song which she covers in 26 minutes between the song and other things you need to know

I'd like to focus on the instrument rather than singing along with the instrument. Not sure if Rock Lobster by the B-52's would be too difficult of an undertaking for a beginner.