Ukulele - General Considerations

axolotl

Reaction score
Hey all.

A friend is going to Hawaii in a couple weeks and is considering picking up a Ukulele while he's over there. I wrote up a quick overview of considerations when choosing an instrument. He's looking a high mid to low upper level instruments so it's a little biased towards that group of instruments.

Full of my personal opinion and likely not without a few mistakes. Feel free to tell me where I'm wrong or not exactly right. Just posting it here in case it might also help someone else. I'm not claiming to be an absolute authority. I'm new to Ukulele but have been playing guitar for decades.

Hope it helps someone.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I didn't spend too much time talking about tonal differences - check out these channels for some good demos

Hawaii Music Supply - YouTube

Southern Ukulele Store

Size: Soprano (Tiny), Concert (Small), Tenor (Perfect Size?), Baritone (Not Huge but largest)

Look at Tenor. They’re a good size - way smaller than guitar but way bigger than a Soprano. Concert are popular as well and not ridiculously small. In the last several years Tenor has overtaken concert in terms of instruments sold.

Tenor are still voiced high relative to a guitar but they have a fair amount of midrange - especially with a Low G string.

Tuning / Low G-High G

Baritone is tuned like the 4 highest strings on a guitar - DGBE. All others tuned the same - GCEA.