Seaguar Fishing Line

Jerryc41

Reaction score
Baz recently changed the strings on a Pickapick, and there was a substantial improvement in sound. He used Seaguar Blue Line fishing line. I've heard people mention using fishing line quite a few times. I don't think I'm going to do this, but if I did, what size line would I have to get? The cost would be much greater than buying individual string sets.

Baz also has a video and a post on that. Been discussed a bunch here too. Lots of recipes out there.

I'm no expert, but I kept popping regular nylon strings. I was admittedly trying to exceed the break strength (21 inch scale and 440Hz).

Just to try it I used some regular old 40lb monofilament that I had been using for catfish leaders. I was just messing around to see if it would work until I could dream up something better. I have to say it works so well I haven't changed it since. The tone and volume are consistent with the existing strings that were on there.

I'm no expert, but I kept popping regular nylon strings. I was admittedly trying to exceed the break strength (21 inch scale and 440Hz).

Just to try it I used some regular old 40lb monofilament that I had been using for catfish leaders. I was just messing around to see if it would work until I could dream up something better. I have to say it works so well I haven't changed it since. The tone and volume are consistent with the existing strings that were on there.
You used the same 40lb line for all 4 ukulele strings or just for the A or G strings?

The instrument is actually a 1921 Orpheum No. 1 tenor banjo. And based on the website calculator of a well-known Italian string maker, I was just a little bit over the break point. So the table is accurate!!

The cost would be much greater than buying individual string sets.
I agree, that's why I would never try this, and you're stuck with all the same strings all the time...forever! :LOL: 🤙