Nonexistent front sound hole?

Neil_O

Reaction score
I’ve been experimenting and using soundports for nearly 20 years. In my opinion a soundport brings a lot to the table and I wouldn’t consider an instrument without one. In an acoustic setting spectators tend to sit in front of the player. They get true volume and tone as it is directed at them. The player himself gets primarily “recycled” sound as it bounces back towards him. The soundport is even more useful for players that sing as it gives them a more accurate notion of volume and how to balance voice with the instrument’s volume. Ever played with other people where you felt that their instruments were louder and drowning the sound of yours causing you to player harder to compensate? Most of the other players felt the same way. In short the soundport gives the player a more accurate notion of volume from his instrument. There’s more but that is its primary function.
Do you have a guess on what an instrument's sound balance would be with a solid top and only a player port?

Last edited:
I had a custom tenor uke made by Bruce Wei Arts in Vietnam from a design I saw of his on his eBay store. No top sound hole, but small sound holes all the way around the bout, with a larger one in the cutaway. I was told it sounded very loud by audience members, and it was very loud and clear for me. I finally had to sell it to a member of my group because with nerve damage to my neck spinal cord, I couldn't play standard depth ukes anymore. It's solid spalted mango top and solid curly mango body.

BWA spalted progress 900.jpg

Last edited:
I guess the direction of the projection would be quite different, so it depends on how you plan to use it.

Seems to me that any weight/balance difference would be very slight....the missing/extra wood is light and towards the balance point (neck joint). Plus in your scenario the port hole and soundhole "fill" would offset each other (assuming no extra top bracing, but those are light too).