Japanese Aria Guitars

direnzo

Reaction score
Anyone got experience with Aria acoustics from pre-2000?

I haven't found any great recordings but I think it's the guitar for me.

The one I want is old-ish, very very well made, great action/tone, no name (as far as average people), larger body, fast neck, and has a cut-out.

I have an Aria Pro II, electric, from the 80s, and it's the best guitar I've ever played. Hoping their acoustics are comparables-l1600.jpg

If anyone has played an older Aria acoustic, let me know

That looks gorgeous. I’ve no experience of Aria acoustics at all. I once had an Aria bass which was very nice 😊. If you’ve played it and it feels right, just go for it 👍

Don Wilson of the Ventures apparently owned an Aria Acoustic just like the one in the photograph above. I bet that it is a very fine instrument. Indeed it is gorgeous. I suspect that Aria sponsored the Ventures or at least provided them with guitars for product placement. The Ventures were the quintessential electric guitar instrumental group, but it is not surprising that one of the founding members woulds also own this acoustic.

When I was in high school, I bought a small Aria acoustic guitar for about $40, used. Sounded great, had the original chipboard case (ALL of my instruments back then had chipboard cases, if they had cases at all)... Just a nice little instrument.

I didn't know what a parlor guitar was, back then.

When I quit playing guitar in college - because I knew I'd never be able to play as well as the people around me ( the people who had been taking guitar lessons for 10-12 years, could read music, and could play the lead part to "Aimee", by Pure Prairie League, for example), I sold it for $25.00. (This was 1977-ish).
When I started playing again about 6 months after that, I got a nice Ibanez dreadnought, but I sure do miss that Aria.