Fresh ukester from Minnesota

Timm_S

Reaction score
Hello all—I'm brand new to this community and to the Ukulele world. Though I've been a musician all my life as a professional keyboardist, I've just begun jamming on ukulele about a month ago, and purchased my own first uke just last week. I retired from my day job (in commercial printing) two years ago, though I still play keyboards as the contemporary worship music director at a small progressive church in south Minneapolis. We've had uke players in my worship group, though I had never considered taking it up myself.

Then last month I saw a posting at my local YMCA where I work out, for a Uke strummers group that meets once a week. We've got a small soprano uke sitting here that we actually had bought for our 4-yr old granddaughter—just a cheap one, but not-quite-a-toy either and at least you could actually tune it. So I attended a few strumming sessions using that small uke, and quickly decided I needed something a little more comfortable for my larger hands if I was to continue this. Found a nice gently-used Lanikai Quilt Ash Concert Cutaway Acoustic/Electric Ukulele (with a Fishman pickup) in good shape so I'm now having fun with that. A guitar-pro friend of mine from the church group advised me to take this in for an actual setup; and since I've also played (at) guitar since 1965 I'm considering having this uke re-strung with the low-G tuning as it would feel more familiar to me that way.

Musical background: graduated Berklee College of Music (Boston) in 1978. Main influences have been everything from prog-rock (ELP, King Crimson) to New Wave techno (Ultravox, Devo), as well as Big Band Jazz, Broadway show-tunes, disco (!), played for a while in a Beatles Tribute band, a Woodstock Tribute band, and some African (Soukous style) and Reggae bands. I like variety.