What technique should i learn: clawhammer, fingerpicking / fingerstyle, or just stick to my thumb?

delang

Reaction score
Im a beginner, and ive seen stuff about many ukulele techniques. From what i understand: clawhammer is from the banjo, and fingerpicking is where you assign a finger to each string. Should i stick to picking with my thumb? Or should i start using fingerpicking? Clawhammer seems a bit hard...

Im pretty sure strumming is moving your hand/thumb through a chord, and picking is playing notes individually. So im going to use those definitions.

I also saw that fingerstyle is a way of playing chords instead of strumming??? I saw a tutorial for fingerstyle and at the end the guy played somewhere over the rainbow by picking the chords instead of strumming them. Also, should think about picks with my ukulele?

It might depend on what type of music you like playing and whether those styles would fit
the type of music i like to play is listed on my signature. (sorry if that sounds kinds passive aggresive)

the type of music i like to play is listed on my signature. (sorry if that sounds kinds passive aggresive)
From your signature, sounds like you may be a solid intermediate player. That aside, your playing (and personal preference) should guide which techniques to use.

As an example, I use (and prefer strongly) my thumb mostly for my chord melody, which includes a lot of fingerpicking. Others will play the same song/passage using the thumb for the g string and fingers assigned to the other three. Still others prefer thumb for the G and C strings and the index and middle for the other two. Early on, I signed up for James Hill's "The Ukulele Way" and he uses the thumb only for most (all?) of the lessons. Same with some other well regarded instructors. And there are those who use thumb and fingers. Which do you like? Realize that as you progress, you can pick up the other technique quickly.