Old Kamaka ukulele

revdocjim

Reaction score
I am very excited with today's find in my late neighbor's attic. A gold label Kamaka Soprano in reasonably good condition! I have several questions. I should preface this by saying I am just a very mediocre hobbyist ukulele player.
1. There is some separation of the wood where the front panel meets the side panel, and also where the left and right side panels meet each other. Do you think I should get this worked on... or just leave it the way it is.
2. I've never owned or used a ukulele that has peg tuners and I am surprised at how incredibly sensitive they are compared to geared tuners. Would it be complete sacrilege to put geared tuners on an instrument like this?
3. Were all Kamaka ukes from this period made of solid koa wood?
4. I've read about date stamps on the interior of the instrument. Where are they located?
HORIZON_0001_BURST20230320120237660_COVER.JPG
DSC_0859.JPG
HORIZON_0001_BURST20230320120315272_COVER.JPGHORIZON_0001_BURST20230320120352443_COVER.JPGDSC_0860.JPG

You can send it to Kamaka to repair. it will take some time and money, but who better than the manufacturer to fix those issues. Also, you can ask them to swap the tuners and return the originals to you

Did you know they played?
Play it a bit first gently and find whether you are going to appreciate its qualities. Would be a shame to put big-eared tuners on this - perhaps use some planetary tuners which look like the current ones (or whatever they fit on Kamaka).

That all looks very repairable, just a seam that has opened up. Some hide glue and clamping. The top crack at the bottom bout can hopefully be mended in the same procedure.

In your shoes, I would leave the tuners alone. You get the hang of them soon enough. No need to change them, imho.

Congrats on the find, but sorry to hear about your neighbor.