Music Theory for the Non-Musically inclined: Finding Home

LorenFL

Reaction score
I've been plunking around on ukes for 11 years now. I know a lot of chords, and I can play some tunes. I can improvise on some mostly memorized chord progressions. (muscle memory is a wonderful thing) And I can improvise "solos" on a few different scale patterns. Mostly the major scale and the minor blues pentatonic scale.

While I've studied my share of music theory, and I *can* understand it... I wouldn't say that I ever fully absorbed it an I don't remember a lot of it. My eyes glaze over when I get too deep!

But, while I was amusing myself riffing on the minor blues pentatonic scale a while ago, I realized something that I've been noticing more and more lately. That is... while I have NO idea what notes I'm playing (I'm generally not even playing the CHORDS that I think I'm playing because I'm tuned 2 semitones down, and playing standard shapes), I'm learning the SOUNDS and the RELATIVE SOUNDS, and my fingers and ears have learned where "home" is on the blues scale that I play so much. I can end a lick in a lot of different places and make it sound good... but, if it's not "home", it feels incomplete! So, I'll play another riff, and bring it back around. It almost sounds like I know what I'm doing.

Yeah, many of you are like, "yeah, I knew that after 3 minutes", but it's something for me. A lot of you grew up learning music, and you have that innate sense of what the "root" or "tonic" of a scale is and all of those other terms that go with it. For me to suddenly come to the realization that I now KNOW what the root of my scale is BECAUSE it feels like "home"... that's something.

I guess this is just a connection between being more inclined to be one of those "self taught, non-music-reading" musicians who plays by ear and actual music theory.