Misheard Lyrics

I said he beat me by 18 minutes. The thread about misheard lyrics went 14 years before anyone mentioned mondegeens, then two peoplein 18 minutes introduced the term to the discussion.
Forgive my apparently bad sense of humour.
Yes its remarkable that after 14 years 2 people comment on mondegreens within 18 minutes

I said he beat me by 18 minutes. The thread about misheard lyrics went 14 years before anyone mentioned mondegeens, then two peoplein 18 minutes introduced the term to the discussion.

Those of us who read the San Francisco Chronicle learned about Mondegreens from their columnist Jon Carroll, who published his favorites and ones readers sent in for many years. He was so in love with them that he once said that if his house was on fire and he only had time to grab one thing, it would be his mondegreen files...

Sorry, Jim Yates, but you have to get up pretty early in the morning to out pace a school teacher...

Years ago I worked in a shop where the staff would play their own CDs as background music. It did mean I was exposed to music I might ordinarily have missed, which is good, but given the musical tastes of my colleagues there was a lot which could at best be endured.

One such was on a Red Hot Chilli Peppers album, which seemed to get endless replays. Never worked out what was being sung for most of it, except for the very strange line “With a purple shed it’s a lawn we view”. Reminded of it a while ago I eventually traced it to a song called Scar Tissue, the actual line being “With the birds I'll share this lonely viewin'”.

Frankly I prefer my version.

Those of us who read the San Francisco Chronicle learned about Mondegreens from their columnist Jon Carroll, who published his favorites and ones readers sent in for many years. He was so in love with them that he once said that if his house was on fire and he only had time to grab one thing, it would be his mondegreen files...