Help with Little Finger

TerryM

Santa Cruz
UU VIP
Reaction score
I started playing ukulele about 3 months ago, so a beginner and not expecting perfection yet, but I'm having difficulty with placement of my fretting little finger that I hope someone can help with. When I try to reach with it straight across the neck (straight up toward my face), the finger curves inward toward the palm (toward the headstock). Does anyone have any tips, suggestions or maybe exercises for training the pinky to do what you want it to do?

Thanks,
Terry

Hi Terry. I think little fingers tend to curve that way, and there is only so much you can do. I've got even more of a problem because I've got a boutonniere deformity in the little finger of my fretting hand. The best advice I can give is to move your thumb further down the back of the neck to stop the little finger from curving up.

Too many variables to give a definitive answer... It might help to name the chord and what string the pinky is on in your post. So if you fret this chord, look at your hand position. Are the other fingers pointed straight across the frets or are they pointed so they are angling away from the headstock.? If one, try rotating to the other. Does this help? FWIW, my pinky does the opposite of the other three fingers (and I fret different chords in the different positions). Be reassured that many players may take months to years to use their pinky comfortably in the fretting hand.

it will take time to develop pinky skills. try some 1-2-3-4-4-3-2-1 drills (1=index finger, 2=middle, 3=ring, 4=pinky). you can start with one string then move across the fretboard and then up and down. it will come, it just takes practice/training.

btw, a minor deviation, pinky bending inward upon flexion (laterally with palm up or medially palm down) is normal.