Dividing the fretboard into zones? (Like shifting positions on a violin)

greenfrog

Reaction score
I am new to ukulele, but play other instruments (mostly viola, violin and piano, and some dabbling with other things). I am a very ear-oriented player - I can read music on viola and (badly) on piano, but my brain's primary way of learning an instrument or a song involves hearing in my head what pitches/intervals I want and then my fingers going to the right place to play them.

This has plusses and minuses - it's awesome for transposing or learning songs by ear, but there are some instruments (including ukulele and guitar) where my brain never seems to connect in a way that lets me do this. Over the past decade I've had two failed attempts at guitar and one at ukulele. I can strum some basic chords and learn a few songs through a lot of repetition, but I never develop the mental map that lets me go straight from a note in my head to my fingers playing it.

I think the main thing that trips my brain up is that I hear the same note in multiple different places all over the fretboard. Not just an octave up or down, the exact same note.

I'm about to make another attempt at learning the ukulele, and this time I'm hoping to divide the fretboard into zones, a little like shifting positions on the viola/violin. So my brain will learn something like "when my hand is near the first fret, this is how I play the pitches I want" and then "when my hand is near the fifth fret, this is how I play the pitches I want" etc. And then hopefully over time my brain will stitch those zones together into a complete auditory map of the fretboard. (To be clear, I don't mean bar chords - I'm thinking of scales/melodies/etc.)