Baritone buying recommendations

malarz

Reaction score
I'm new to ukulele buying and would apreciate any advice and recommendations on baritone brands to search for and those to avoid and then those to covet. Price range maybe $500-600 which, I suppose, puts it somewhere in the mid-level quality range. I'm in CT and would like to be able to try one before buying but I've bought guitars and banjos via the internet and have been disappointed only once. I'm willing to take a chance on buying an untested-by-me instrument.

Thanks for any help/

Most people will probably recommend Pono at that price point and I would agree with that notion. They're decent baritones for the money and there isn't many alternatives at that mid-range of quality. However, I would very much suggest checking out Cocobolo Ukulele if they happen to have a baritone available on their lotteries. I made that the switch from Pono to Cocobolo baritone and never looked back. The difference in quality is much greater than the price difference.

Forum member Kelali makes wonderful-sounding baritones. Mine was about $400 used. Not sure of his new prices.

Most people will probably recommend Pono at that price point and I would agree with that notion. They're decent baritones for the money and there isn't many alternatives at that mid-range of quality. However, I would very much suggest checking out Cocobolo Ukulele if they happen to have a baritone available on their lotteries. I made that the switch from Pono to Cocobolo baritone and never looked back. The difference in quality is much greater than the price difference.
I'm going to confirm Dohle's prediction and say Pono... I love love love my Mahogany Baritone...

And: I really hate my Oscar Schmidt Baritone... don't go there...