Search results

1. humblej

Oops

Here is a soprano ukulele next to a banjolele. The scale length is about the same but the fretboard length, number of frets, and length of the neck are different due to the difference in body/pot size.
  2. humblej

Oops

A ukulele neck will not work on a banjolele pot, its not the pot size, its the neck length. Swapping a concert neck out for a tenor or baritone neck will only make the problem worse. Whatever neck you use for a banjolele will need to be longer than a ukulele neck of the same scale, 4-6 frets...
  3. humblej

It’s been a while

I am game, post some pictures.
  4. humblej

Newbie Stewmac Kit: adding upgrades/bling .. peghead veneer thickness?

I am not a build guru, and have never built from a kit before. I have always built from scratch. Not many builds, just 4 ukuleles so far, so I am new to this too. Any advice I give is based on my limited specific experience. Your first couple of builds will be learning basic skills: joining...
  5. humblej

For my next learning while also painting ukulele...

I would not remove the label, and since that is where the hole is I would leave the hole alone too. How about posting a picture please.
  6. humblej

looking for a saw to cut corian / bone for saddles

Its not the saw, its the saw blade. Harder material will need a finer blade with more teeth per inch (TPI). More teeth will cut slower so you will need to reduce the speed of the saw and feed the material slower. I have cut bone but have no experience with corian. I would suggest trying a hand...
  7. humblej

Second Soprano Build

Thanks Brad, that is the kind of feedback I am looking for, I appreciate your comments. Regarding the choice of wood, my goal at this point is build and learn, I do not expect to have a fine instrument on the first few attempts, so at this point I have been using what I have on hand, also...
  8. humblej

Second Soprano Build

Not angled, not your eyes, it's the camera.
  9. humblej