Search results

1. ripock

Strings Strings high tension

If you want less tension, try concert strings and not baritone strings as previously advised. Just make sure the concert strings are long enough for a super tenor scale. Worth strings work because they are double the length. To alleviate tension I also downtune to EAC#F# instead of GCEA...
  2. ripock

Fret markers in the wrong spots?

I agree that markers are a bit decorative, and on my custom ukes I insist on the decorative pattern of a side dot on all the pentatonic frets to pay homage to the roots of American music, especially needed now in light of white nationalism.
  3. ripock

my ukulele progress

The camel wore a nightie.
  4. ripock

my ukulele progress

okay, now it is actually time for bed. Beethoven hasn't copyrighted A, B, and C, so I could argue I am not plagiarizing him but then I started playing more and more of his song. My larceny is now pellucidly transparent. That's the benefit of playing scales. If you play scales on three...
  5. ripock

my ukulele progress

I have to go take my pre-work nap, but I quickly wanted to annotate what I was doing. Capitalizing on my recent success with A, I plagiarized Beethoven's A, AAA B CC. Obviously that's just a whole step then a half step jump. So then I was responding to the melody but with odd chord qualities...
  6. ripock

my ukulele progress

In Greek they use the word areté which roughly means excellent. The idea is to be excellent. In practical terms that means to have a principle and commit to it excellently. That's my definition of a good person: have a guiding principle, which I may or may not agree with, and just embody it...
  7. ripock

my ukulele progress